The Maharaja Express has redefined the luxury rail travel experience by offering its guests the opportunity to explore fabled destinations. It provides a glimpse into the rich culture and heritage of India that will leave you with fond memories of this train journey. This itinerary will allow you to explore the mystical culture of India while feeling like royalty. 

Back to India Tours

Why We Love It

Visit the sacred city of Varanasi and cruise on the River Ganges to observe ancient spiritual rituals.

Enjoy a champagne breakfast atop the Taj Khema after an early morning visit to the exquisite Taj Mahal.

A unique way to experience India in the sheer opulence of the luxurious Maharaja Express.

Want to know more?


Day by day Itinerary

Maharajas' Express

Double click
to zoom in Double right click
to zoom out

View All Days

Day 1

Delhi - Jaipur

Make your way to the Safdarjung Railway Station to board The Maharaja Express. Once boarding formalities are completed, you’ll be given a traditional Indian welcome and ushered to your cabin. In the evening, the train departs and heads towards Jaipur.

Day 2


After a leisurely breakfast visit the Amber Fort, the seat of Kacchawa Rajputs. In the afternoon there are a number of optional excursions you can choose from. You can take a shopping tour, enjoy a sightseeing trip to the City Palace complex and Jantar Mantar, play a round of golf or indulge in a rejuvenating spa session. Dinner is enjoyed on the train. (B)(D)

Day 3

Ranthambore – Fatehpur Sikri

As you enjoy a sumptuous breakfast, the train enters the rustic surroundings of Ranthambore. Enjoy a safari through Ranthambore National Park. Reboard the train and enjoy lunch while the train journeys to the ghost town of Fatehpur Sikri. Upon arrival, disembark the train and explore the length and breadth of Sikri Fort. Return to the train for dinner and overnight. (B)(D)

Day 4

Agra - Gwalior

Early this morning disembark the train and visit the Taj Mahal, one of the Seven Wonders of the World and a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Following this, enjoy a champagne breakfast atop the Taj Khema with amazing views. After breakfast, the train heads to Gwalior. Upon arrival, lunch will be at the Usha Kiran Palace. Following lunch, visit the magnificent Gwalior Fort and the Jai Vilas Palace Musuem. High tea will be served at the Jai Vilas Palace before you return to the train for your overnight journey. (B)(D)

Day 5

Orchha - Khajuraho

While the train is en-route to Khajuraho, you will stop over at Orchha which is renowned for its Bundela architectural marvels. While in Orchha, you will visit Jahangiri Mahal. After lunch on board the train, you will arrive at Khajuraho. Here you will have the chance to visit both the eastern and western group of temples that have been recognised as UNESCO World Heritage Site. Return to the train for dinner and overnight. (B)(D)

Day 6


This morning you will arrive at Varanasi, the holy Indian city known for its Hindu and Buddhist pilgrimage sites. Your first stop will be Sarnath, renowned for its Buddhist heritage. After lunch (at your own expense) visit the Varanasi Silk Centre and then enjoy a river cruise on the Ganges. The spectacular scenery along the river bank and the evening ‘Aarti’ that you will have the chance to witness will capture your senses. (B)(D)

Day 7


Today you will arrive into the city of the Nawabs – Lucknow. Begin your tour of the city by visiting the Rumi Darwaza and the Bada Imambara. Later there will some time to explore the colourful bazaars of Lucknow. After lunch, return to the train to spend the afternoon at your leisure before heading back in to the city for an exclusive dinner where you can relish Awadhi cuisine from the Royal Kitchen. (B)(D)

Day 8


After breakfast, disembark the train in Delhi. (B)

Speak with a travel designer
to create your custom itinerary now!

1300 295 049 REQUEST A QUOTE

View the Terms & Conditions